

This is to notify you that there has been a change in law that allows more **working** families to receive a guarantee of child care. You may decide that, instead of receiving Cash Assistance (CA), what you really need is help paying for child care. **Families who are applying for and are found eligible for, or are receiving, CA and need child care in order to work, may be eligible for a child care guarantee for working families. A child care guarantee means that if you meet the eligibility requirements, the social services district must pay an eligible child care provider for your child care. This guarantee applies only to the hours you are working and a reasonable amount of time for you to get to and from work to your child care provider.**

Who is eligible?

You are eligible for this guarantee if you are <u>applying for</u> and <u>found eligible for</u> CA and choose child care instead of CA, or if you are receiving CA and ask that your CA case be closed, and:

- You are earning at least minimum wage or are employed in a job where minimum wage is made by the combination of gross earnings and tips, or you are self-employed; AND
- Your gross earnings are equal to or greater than the amounts listed below; OR
- If you are employed in a job exempt from minimum wage rules and you are earning less than minimum wage, you work the minimum number of hours listed below.

What if I am earning at least minimum wage, am I eligible?

Because minimum wage in New York State is different depending on your work location and the number of employees that your employer has, below are two tables with income standards that must be met to be eligible for CILOCA. One is for a single parent household and the other for a two-parent household.

Single Parent

Place of Employment	Minimum Wage	Weekly Amount	Monthly Amount
NYC Employer with 11or more employees	\$11.00	\$192.50	\$834.00
NYC Employer with 10 or less employees	\$10.50	\$184.00	\$797.00
Long Island & Westchester	\$10.00	\$175.00	\$758.00
Greater New York State	\$9.70	\$170.00	\$737.00

Form M-528m (page 2 of 4) LLF Rev. 1/18/17

Two-Parent

Place of Employment	Minimum Wage	Weekly Amount	Monthly Amount
NYC Employer with 11or more employees	\$11.00	\$275.00	\$1192.00
NYC Employer with 10 or less employees	\$10.50	\$262.50	\$1137.50
Long Island & Westchester	\$10.00	\$250.00	\$1083.00
Greater New York State	\$9.70	\$242.50	\$1051.00

What if I am self-employed?

The same income standards as regular employment apply. See tables above.

What if my earned income falls below any of the above amounts?

If your gross earnings fall below the above amounts, you will no longer be eligible for this guarantee. If this happens, you may want to ask your Worker if you are eligible for child care under another program.

What if my job doesn't pay minimum wage?

If you are a single parent whose employer is not required to pay minimum wage, you must be working at least 17.5 hours per week. If you are a two-parent household with both parents working, you must have a combined total of at least 25 hours per week.

What if we are a two-parent household where one of us earns below minimum wage and the other earns at least minimum wage or is self employed?

A two-parent household where one parent earns at least minimum wage or is self-employed and the other parent is employed in a job exempt from minimum wage rules that pays less than minimum wage is eligible for the child care guarantee if:

- the parent earning at least minimum wage or who is self-employed earns an amount equal to the amounts on the single parent table; and
- the parent earning less than minimum wage is working a minimum of 7.5 hours per week.

What if my work hours drop below these amounts?

If you are earning less than minimum wage and your hours drop below the above number, you will not be eligible for the guarantee.

What if my income or hours of work change all of the time?

If your hours of work or earnings are constantly changing, we will look at an average number of hours and amount of income that occurs over a period of three to six months. As long as the average number of hours or amount of income meets the minimum described above, you will still be eligible.

Form M-528m (page 3 of 4) LLF Rev. 1/18/17

What happens if my income rises above the CA income limit and I become ineligible for CA?

Once your family income is at or above the amount that would allow you to remain eligible for CA but is at or below 200% of the State Income Standards, you may be eligible for transitional child care.

What if I am working and going to school?

The guarantee applies only to the hours that you are working and a reasonable amount of time for you to get to and from work from your child care provider. You also <u>may</u> be eligible for child care for the hours that you are in school. If you need child care in order to go to school, you should discuss this with your Worker.

Are all of my children eligible for the child care guarantee?

Any child under the age of 13 is covered by the guarantee. If you have older children with special needs who need child care, they may be eligible under a different child care program. You should let your Worker know about any of your children who have special needs.

How will receipt of the child care guarantee affect my child support money?

If you are eligible for the child care guarantee and receive court ordered child support, you will be able to keep all of your child support money.

Does my eligibility for this child care guarantee have a time limit like the 60-month time limit for CA?

No, your child care benefits under this guarantee are not limited to 60 months. You can continue to receive child care benefits for as long as you are eligible.

Why don't I have a child care guarantee while I am on CA?

Actually, you do. CA participants who are participating as required in work activities also have a child care guarantee as long as they meet certain requirements. However, the child care in lieu of CA guarantee discussed in this letter allows you to receive the same guarantee of child care without having to remain on CA.

If I decide all I really need is child care, how do I apply for the child care guarantee?

If you are eligible for CA and decide that all you really need is child care, your Worker can tell you how to apply for the child care guarantee. If you are already <u>receiving</u> CA and are otherwise eligible for the program, you will need to close your CA case in order to get this guarantee.

Will all of my child care be paid?

If you choose to receive child care assistance instead of receiving CA and child care, you will have to pay part of your child care costs, in the amount of \$15 per week for full time care or \$12 per week for part time care. This is called your family share. Additionally, if your provider charges above the market rate, you will need to pay the amount that your provider charges above the market rate.

Form M-528m (page 4 of 4) LLF Rev. 1/18/17

Who can care for my child?

You can choose any eligible child care provider. This may be a licensed or registered day care center, family or group family day care home, or school-age child care program. You can also choose a relative, neighbor, or friend. If you want a relative, neighbor, or friend to care for your child, he or she will need to meet certain eligibility requirements and enroll with a legally-exempt caregiver enrollment agency. Ask your Worker for the enrollment forms.

What if I change my mind and decide that I need CA as well as child care?

You can still apply for CA at any time. If you are found eligible for CA, you may still be eligible for child care.

What about other benefits like Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) Benefits and Medical Assistance?

Your SNAP eligibility will not be affected if you request child care instead of CA.

If you are applying for Medical Assistance and you choose to receive child care instead of CA, your application will be referred to the Medicaid program for a separate determination. If you are currently receiving Medicaid and request that your CA case be closed, your Medicaid will continue unchanged until Medicaid can complete a separate determination.

What if I have any questions about this letter?

You can contact your Worker.